Terre Haute Fire Department 2021 Hiring Process

The Terre Haute Fire Department is currently accepting applications for the 2021 hiring process to establish an eligibility list for hiring.  Application packets can be obtained by stopping in at the department's headquarters located at 25 Spruce St. Terre Haute Indiana 47807 between the hours of 8 AM and 4 PM Monday through Friday, or by downloading the hiring process information packet and application.

Applications must be returned to fire department headquarters no later than end of business April 30, 2021.  Late applications will not be accepted.  Please be sure to read through the application carefully and in its entirety.  Any missing items from the application will result in your application being thrown out.

Minimum Qualification Requirements:

  • Applicants must be a resident of Vigo county, Indiana or a contiguous Indiana county at the time of appointment
  • Applicants must be 21 years of age at the time of applying and not older than 35 years of age (except those with 20 years of military service)
  • Applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Applicants must not have been convicted of a felony with the exception of those judicially expunged
  • Applicants must not have been dishonorably discharged from the military service
  • Applicants must possess a valid drivers license (Indiana drivers license must be obtained within 60 days of hire)
  • Applicants must pass a basic aptitude test administered through the merit commission with a score of 70% or better to qualify
  • As a condition of employment, applicants must pass a medical, psychological, and a vision exam per the Indiana Public Employee Retirement System.  The applicants vision must be correctable to 20/40 for each eye
  • Applicants must have a CPAT card completed within the last 3 months and turned in with application
  • All applicants are required to sign a contract stating that they will become a paramedic with the state of Indiana within 5 years of hire.  Training for this certification is provided by the department.

Benefits Include:

  • First Year Probationary Salary: $47,420
  • First Class Firefighter: $52,190
  • Longevity Pay: $652.37 for each year of service (capped at 20 years = $13,047.40)
  • Certification Pay: Paramedic = $1,100, SCBA Tech = $500
  • $1.00 per month Pension Plan

Applicants will be required to participate in a written examination that is administered and scored by the Terre Haute Fire Department Merit Commission.  Upon successful passing of examination and confirmation of a completed background check and physical agility card, the applicants will be interviewed by the Merit Commission and all applicants will then be scored to establish the eligibility list.  This eligibility list will be good for 2 years from date it is published. 

Applicants will be notified of testing date and additional information when progressing through the hiring process.

The Terre Haute Fire Department is an equal employment opportunity employer which encourages women and minorities to apply.